What’s the difference between a search term and a keyword? A search term is an exact word or set of words a customer enters when searching on Google.com or one of our Search Network sites. A keyword is a word or set of words AdWords advertisers create for a given ad group to target your ads to customers. What’s the difference between a search term and a keyword? A search term is an exact word or set of words a customer enters when searching on Google.com or one of our Search Network sites. A keyword is a word or set of words AdWords advertisers create for a given ad group to target your ads to customers.
- Clicks = how many clicks your ad has received.
- Impressions = how often your ad was shown on a search result page or site on the Google Network.
- Website Visits = Clickthrough rate (CTR) = the percentage of people who could see your ad and clicked on it.
- Conversions = how many people clicked from your ad to your site and did something you valued, such as a purchase, sign-up, phone call, or download.
- Cost per conversion = how much each ad conversion cost you (cost per acquisition or CPA).
- Conversion rate = how many conversions on your site resulted from an ad click. Example: 50 conversions from 1000 clicks, 50 ÷ 1000 = 5% conversion rate.
ROI is calculated with this formula: (Revenue-Cost)/Cost. If your ad resulted in $1200 of sales for a product that cost $600 to make, and your advertising cost was $200, then your ROI is [$1200 – ($600 + $200)] / ($600 + $200) = 50% ROI.
Sales = Conversions; Conversion rate; Cost per acquisition
- Top movers: Campaigns and ad groups that have experienced the biggest changes in clicks, costs, and conversions, and view details about those changes.
- Auction insights: Compare your performance with other advertisers who are participating in the same auctions to see missed opportunities. This information can help you make better decisions about bids, budgets, and keyword choices.
- Importing conversions: Sometimes your AdWords-sourced leads convert offline. Or you want to report your online conversions 30 days after the sale so you can exclude orders that were returned. You can with AdWords Conversion Import. About tracking offline conversions
- Labels: Apply labels to keywords, campaigns, and groups, and ads to quickly filter and review the data that matters to you. About labels
- Geographic reporting: Better understand how your ads are performing in different locations. See where your customers are physically located, or locations they’re interested in. If you use location extensions, use the distance report to see how your ads performed at varying distances from your business. About measuring geographic performance
- Search Terms report: See what queries are actually triggering your ads, so you can make better decisions on what positive and negative keywords to use. About the Search terms report
- Custom columns: Tailor the columns in your statistics table to segment and display your data in the ways that are most important to you. About custom columns
- Campaign details report: See which features, settings, and attributes each of your campaigns is using so you can identify account issues or new opportunities.
- Report Editor: Use powerful reporting tools to conduct multi-dimensional analysis and create pivot tables, charts, and graphs, directly within your browser. About the Report Editor
- Search terms report – lists the searches and terms that triggered your ad and drove traffic to your website. Add terms from this list to your keyword list.
- Where your users were (user locations) report – shows only your customers’ physical locations (regardless of any locations they may have shown interest in). If customers in a certain region are gravitating to you, update your campaign to directly target them.
- What triggered your ad (geographic) report – shows your customers’ physical locations and locations they had shown interest in through searches or content they had viewed. If customers interested in certain locations are finding you, update your campaign to directly offer something they’re looking for.
- Landing page experience report – estimates the quality of your landing page — which is part of your AdWords quality score and strengthens or weakens your ad position. If you have a weak landing page, a link is provided with tips to make it better.
- Paid and organic report – shows how people got to you through Google’s free organic search results vs. your paid AdWords ads. Learn the ways customers are looking for products and services like yours and update your own keyword list to directly target them.
- Overall AdWords performance: Sign in to your AdWords account, Click the Campaigns tab, Click the Dimensions tab, and Click the View button to select the time period that you’d like to use to organize your statistics. Once your statistics table looks the way you want, just click the download button to download it as a report.
- campaign performance data: Campaigns tab, Click the name of the campaign that interests you to see how its ad groups are performing. To view specific campaigns for your report, click the Filter button to set up a campaign filter. Once your statistics table looks the way you want, just click the download button to download it as a report.
- Ad group performance data: Campaigns tab, and Pick the ad groups that interest you. To include all the ad groups from a specific campaign, click the campaign name in the table. You’ll be taken to the “Ad groups” tab for that campaign. To include all the ad groups in your account, click the Ad groups tab while viewing “All campaigns.” To include specific ad groups from different campaigns, first click the Ad groups tab while viewing “All campaigns.” Then click the Filter button to set up an ad group filter. Ad group details reports provide a way to see which features and settings are enabled in each of your ad groups. View ad group details reports: Sign in to your AdWords account, Click the Campaigns tab, and Click the Dimensions subtab. Campaign details reports provide a way to see which features and settings are enabled in each of your campaigns. Here’s how to view campaign details reports: AdWords account, click Campaigns tab, and Click the Dimensions subtab, finally From the “View” drop-down, choose Campaign details.
To access Keyword Planner, sign in to your AdWords account at http://adwords.google.com/KeywordPlanner.
Research keywords: Search for keyword and ad groups ideas based on terms that are relevant to your product or service, your landing page, or different product categories.
Get historical statistics and traffic forecasts: Use Search volume for keywords to use for a new or existing campaign. Get forecasts, like predicted clicks and estimated conversions, to get an idea of how a list of keywords might perform for a given bid and budget. AdWords bid simulators help you see how different bids might change your ads’ weekly performance.
- The regular Bid Simulators show you how changes to your max. CPC bid might change the cost or the number of clicks, impressions, conversions, and conversion value your ads would have received for your keyword or ad group. Ad groups and Keywords tabs.
- The Campaign Bid Simulator shows you how changes to your campaign’s bids might affect that campaign’s performance. In Campaigns tab.
- The Shopping Campaigns Bid Simulator shows you how certain changes to your bid might have impacted your product group’s performance. Product groups tab.
- The Video Campaigns Bid Simulator shows you how changes to your max. CPV might impact your typical weekly video traffic. Campaigns tab.
- The Target CPA Simulator shows you how changes to your target cost-per-acquisition (target CPA) might affect your ad performance. Campaigns tab or in the Shared library.
- The Mobile Bid Adjustment Simulator shows you how changes to your mobile bid adjustment might affect your ad performance on different devices.
Mobile bid adjustment simulator -Using the bid simulators for conversion estimates
Auction insights statistics
The Auction insights reports are different for Search and Shopping campaigns.
The Auction insights report for Search campaigns provides 6 different statistics: impression share, average position, overlap rate, position above rate, top of page rate, and outranking share. You can generate a report for one or more keywords, ad groups, or campaigns (as long as they meet a minimum threshold of activity for the time period selected), and segment results by time and device.
The Auction insights report for Shopping campaigns provides 3 different statistics: impression share, overlap rate, and outranking share. You can generate a report for one or more ad groups or campaigns (as long as they meet a minimum threshold of activity for the time period selected), and segment results by time and device. Auction insights data for Shopping campaigns are available from October 2014 to present.
Outranking share is a percentage defined as the number of times your ad ranked higher in the auction than another participant’s ad, plus the number of times your ad showed when theirs did not, divided by the total number of ad auctions you participated in.
Attribution reports show you the paths customers take to complete a conversion and attribute the conversion to different ads, clicks, and factors along the way.
The “Click Analysis” reports