Daily Archives: October 8, 2017

Navigate Google Merchant Center

Use Google Merchant Center as a resource to manage feeds, view data, and explore programs for your products. Go to the Home page from the navigation panel to quickly view Merchant Center announcements as well as your Dashboard information. The Dashboard contains cards such as product data overviews, feed information, and Shopping ad clicks. For more information on your product data, follow the direct links to access data diagnostics and product feeds.

Business information

Manage your business information and details in the Business information section.

  • About your business: Manage your store name and contact information. Learn more
  • Website: Claim and verify your website. Learn more
  • Logo: Upload your store’s logos to use when advertising your products on Google. Learn more

Products

The products section allows you to manage your feeds, review feed data quality, and view a detailed list of your products in a centralized spot. Use the Products page to quickly access all information and configuration around your product data.

  • Diagnostics:  Review and troubleshoot current and historical issues with your product data. Use the context filter for more information on product eligibility in different contexts and programs.
  • Feeds: Register and upload feed. Learn more about registering and uploading feeds. The Feeds page provides access to various feed related tools, including feed rules and downloadable error reports.
  • List: View detailed information about your submitted products and search for specific products. All click data is based on data available in AdWords and is calculated based on the time zone of your AdWords account. The data provided is from the previous 30 days.  Learn more
    • Note: If multiple AdWords accounts are linked to your Merchant Center account, click data will be aggregated from those accounts. Refer to your linked AdWords account for full reporting on the performance of your ads.

Tax and Shipping: Create and manage your tax or shipping settings.

Other program content

The Programs page contains cards featuring the various programs that are available in Merchant Center, and some may be a good fit for your business. Find the Programs page under the 3-dot icon in the upper right-hand corner of your account. Continue exploring various programs by selecting the Learn more option on each card, and express your interest in participating in a program by selecting Get started.

Message archive

View recent account notifications within Merchant Center by clicking on the Mail icon in the upper right-hand corner of your account. This includes notifications, alerts, and announcements that have been sent to your Merchant Center contacts. Feed status notifications will be removed from the message archive after 90 days. This feature is not yet available for parent multi-client accounts.

Manage account settings

G to your account management preferences, click the 3-dot icon   in the upper right-hand corner of your account.

  • Account settings: Manage your time zone and language preferences.
  • Account linking: Link your Adwords, Doubleclick, and supported e-commerce platforms to Merchant Center.
    • Adwords: Link your Merchant Center and Google AdWords accounts. Learn more
    • Doubleclick: Link your Merchant Center and DoubleClick Bid Manager account. Learn more
    • E-commerce platform: Link your Merchant Center and supported e-commerce platform accounts. Learn more
  • Automatic item updates: Enable automatic item updates to allow Google to update your items on Google Shopping based on the structured data markup we find on your website. Learn more
  • Users: Allow multiple users to access your account, and adjust user access level and administrative ownership for Merchant Center. Users can access multiple Merchant Center accounts from a single Google account and navigate between accounts by clicking the expand icon in the navigation panel. Learn more about user access.
  • STFP/FTP/GCS: Use SFTP (preferred), FTP, or Google Cloud Storage (GCS) to transfer product data to Google’s server.  Learn more about uploading via SFTP and FTP, or with Google Cloud Storage.
  • API diagnostics: Set up the Content API for Shopping (advanced), which enables you to programmatically upload product listings. Also, review API call errors on this page.
  • Merchant Center programs: Explore programs in Merchant Center the may help you advertise your products.
  • Product. Word that describes the actual product that your potential customers would be searching for on Google
  • Item. The word that describes a product once it’s been added to your product data, either in a text feed, XML feed, or API. For example, an item is one line in your text feed
  • Variant. The word that describes a product that comes in different variations. For example, a shirt that comes in different sizes has size variants

Google AdWords Reporting Analytics Tools

  • Top movers: See which campaigns and ad groups have experienced the biggest changes in clicks, costs, and conversions, and view details about those changes. About the top movers report
  • Auction insights: Compare your performance with other advertisers who are participating in the same auctions and see where you’re missing opportunities. This information can help you make better decisions about bids, budgets, and keyword choices. About the auction insights report
  • Importing conversions: Sometimes your AdWords-sourced leads convert offline. Or you want to report your online conversions 30 days after the sale so you can exclude orders that were returned. You can with AdWords Conversion Import. About tracking offline conversions
  • Labels: Apply labels to keywords, campaigns, and groups, and ads to quickly filter and review the data that matters to you. About labels
  • Geographic reporting: Use the geographic information to better understand how your ads are performing in different locations. See where your customers are physically located, or locations they’re interested in. If you use location extensions, use the distance report to see how your ads performed in varying distances from your business. About measuring geographic performance
  • Search Terms report: See what queries are actually triggering your ads, so you can make better decisions on what positive and negative keywords to use. About the Search terms report
  • Custom columns: Tailor the columns in your statistics table to segment and display your data in the ways that are most important to you. About custom columns
  • Campaign details report: See which features, settings, and attributes each of your campaigns is using so you can identify account issues or new opportunities.
  • Report Editor: Use powerful reporting tools to conduct multi-dimensional analysis and create pivot tables, charts, and graphs, directly within your browser. About the Report Editor

To access Keyword Planner, sign in to your AdWords account at http://adwords.google.com/KeywordPlanner.

Research keywords. Need help finding keywords to add to a new campaign? Or, maybe you want to find additional keywords to add to an existing campaign. You can search for keyword and ad groups ideas based on terms that are relevant to your product or service, your landing page, or different product categories.

Get historical statistics and traffic forecasts. Use statistics like search volume to help you decide which keywords to use for a new or existing campaign. Get forecasts, like predicted clicks and estimated conversions, to get an idea of how a list of keywords might perform for a given bid and budget. These forecasts can also help guide your decision on which bids and budgets to set. AdWords bid simulators help you see how different bids might change your ads’ weekly performance.

  • The regular Bid Simulators show you how changes to your max. CPC bid might change the cost or the number of clicks, impressions, conversions, and conversion value your ads would have received for your keyword or ad group. You can find them on the Ad groups and Keywords tabs.
  • The Campaign Bid Simulator shows you how changes to your campaign’s bids might affect that campaign’s performance. Find it on the Campaigns tab.
  • The Shopping Campaigns Bid Simulator shows you how certain changes to your bid might have impacted your product group’s performance. You can find it on the Product groups tab.
  • The Video Campaigns Bid Simulator shows you how changes to your max. CPV might impact your typical weekly video traffic. Find it on the Campaigns tab.
  • The Target CPA Simulator shows you how changes to your target cost-per-acquisition (target CPA) might affect your ad performance. Find it on the Campaigns tab or in the Shared library.
  • The Mobile Bid Adjustment Simulator shows you how changes to your mobile bid adjustment might affect your ad performance on different devices.

Mobile bid adjustment simulator -Using the bid simulators for conversion estimates

  • This bid simulator takes into account your existing campaign settings, including your existing max. CPC bids, enhanced cost-per-click bids, location bid adjustments, ad scheduling bid adjustments, and remarketing bid adjustments.
  • The bid simulator does not take into account ad group bid adjustments. If you apply any bid adjustment changes from the simulator, your ad group bid adjustments will be overwritten.
  • Estimates will become more accurate over time as your campaign accumulates data. You can still use the simulator for newer campaigns.
  • You might need to increase your budget if you’d like to achieve the traffic levels shown in the simulator.
  • The bid simulator offers clicks, cost, and impressions estimates. The simulator does not provide information on estimated conversions.
  • Conversion definitions: Conversions rely not only on ad clicks but also on the actions that customers take on your site. This can also make them more difficult to predict.
  • Changes to conversion tracking: Removing or moving the conversion tracking tag could invalidate the estimates. Don’t make any major changes to the conversion tracking code for at least 2 weeks before using the bid simulators for conversion and conversion value estimates.
  • Delayed conversions (Search traffic): Simulators count conversions that might have been recorded during the simulation period (usually the last 7 days). For example, if a click took place during the simulation period, but the conversion wasn’t recorded until after the simulation period, then the conversion would not be counted in the simulator. Keep in mind that conversions could still occur up to 90 days after each click depending on your chosen conversion window.

Benefits of using the Campaign Bid Simulator

  • You can view bid changes in aggregate and model changes even when keywords or ad groups might not have enough data for this on their own.
  • Bid scaling is available, so you can see what might happen if you increased or decreased all your bids by a specific percentage (10%, for example).
  • Because campaign-level bid changes can increase traffic significantly, we’ll tell you whether you need to increase your budget and, if so, what to change it to.
  • You can model what happens if you changed all your bids in the campaign to a fixed value. If you choose to apply 1 of these campaign-wide bid changes, your ad group default bids will be changed to this fixed value, and your keyword-level bids will be erased.
  • You can download the bid simulation data at the account or campaign level.
  • You can download an AdWords Editor-compatible file with the bid amounts to which ad groups and keywords must be set.
  • Sparse conversion data: There is usually fewer conversion data than click or impression data when calculating these estimates, so conversions can be more difficult to estimate. If your account doesn’t typically get a lot of conversions, we may not have enough information to generate an estimate for conversions. The longer the history and the more conversions you have, the more accurate these estimates will be.
  • Bid simulators estimate your ad performance based on detailed information that’s specific to your campaign, including your Quality Score and keywords.
  • The Keyword Planner and Display Planner provide information about overall traffic patterns across all AdWords advertisers.

Who should use a manager account:

  • Large advertisers with more than one AdWords account
  • Third parties such as:
    • Agencies
    • Search engine marketers (SEMs)
    • Automated bid managers (ABMs)
    • And other online marketing professionals who manage multiple client accounts or a large number of campaigns

 

Access level for manager account user What the manager account user can do in the manager account What the manager account user can do in linked managed accounts
Administrative access
  • Link existing accounts and create new linked accounts
  • Unlink other manager accounts and individual AdWords accounts
  • Invite users
  • Cancel invitations sent by other users
  • Remove a user
  • Change access levels for users
  • Accept and decline link requests
If the manager account isn’t an administrative owner, a user with administrative access can:

  • Invite users with “Standard,” “Read-only,” or “Email only” access levels
  • View, edit and manage any part of linked accounts and campaigns
  • Change user access from “Standard” to “Read-only”
  • Change user access from “Read only” to “Standard”
  • Receive notification emails for linked accounts
  • Receive emailed reports if added to email list

If the manager account is an administrative owner, a user with administrative access can also:

  • Invite users with “Administrative” access
  • Change user access from “Administrative” to “Standard” or “Read-only”
  • Change user access from “Read only” or “Standard” to “Administrative”
  • Grant another manager account administrative ownership
  • Remove administrative ownership
  • Accept and decline link requests from other manager accounts
  • Unlink another manager account
  • Turn remarketing list sharing on and off
Standard access
  • Browse the manager account
  • View, edit, and manage any part of linked accounts and campaigns
  • Sign in and run reports for linked accounts
  • Receive notification emails for linked accounts
  • Receive emailed reports if added to email list
Read-only access
  • Browse the manager account
  • View, sign in, and run reports for linked accounts
  • Receive notification emails for linked accounts
  • Receive emailed reports if added to email list
Email only access
  • Receive notification emails for manager account
  • Receive notification emails for linked accounts
  • Receive emailed reports if added to email list

For example, you can:

  • Use bulk editing tools to make multiple changes quickly.
  • Export and import files to share proposals or make changes to an account.
  • View statistics for all campaigns or a subset of campaigns.
  • Manage, edit, and view multiple accounts at the same time.
  • Search and replace text across ad groups or campaigns.
  • Copy or move items between ad groups and campaigns.
  • Undo and redo multiple changes while editing your campaigns.
  • Make changes in the draft before uploading them to your account.
  • Keep working even when you’re offline.

Cross-device conversions, a part of All conversions, are tracked for AdWords ads traffic on Google Search pages and the Google Display Network, including AdMob, at this time. Cross-device conversions aren’t tracked for app install conversions or with imported goals from Google Analytics or AdWords Conversion Import. Similarly, Store Visits are only calculated for Google Search pages.

  • Call conversions on the Search Network from both desktop and tablet are included in the “Computer” row. (Call conversions from tablets can’t be reported separately.)
  • Mobile calls are included in the mobile row.
  • Desktop and tablet call conversions are not available at the keyword level.
  • Cross-device data for call conversions is only available for Search Network campaigns.
  • The “All conversions” column can’t be segmented by click type.
  • Conversion rates are calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total ad clicks that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 clicks, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.

Impression share (IS) is the percentage of impressions that your ads receive compared to the total number of impressions that your ads could get.

Impression share = impressions / total eligible impressions

Eligible impressions are estimated using many factors, including targeting settings, approval statuses, and quality. Impression share data is available for campaigns, ad groups, product groups (for Shopping campaigns), and keywords.

Impression share is a good way to understand whether your ads might reach more people if you increase your bid or budget.

(Revenue – Cost of goods sold) / Cost of goods sold

What’s the difference between a search term and a keyword? A search term is an exact word or set of words a customer enters when searching on Google.com or one of our Search Network sites. A keyword is a word or set of words AdWords advertisers create for a given ad group to target your ads to customers. What’s the difference between a search term and a keyword? A search term is an exact word or set of words a customer enters when searching on Google.com or one of our Search Network sites. A keyword is a word or set of words AdWords advertisers create for a given ad group to target your ads to customers.

Search Console site.

 

Auction insights statistics

The Auction insights reports are different for Search and Shopping campaigns.

The Auction insights report for Search campaigns provides 6 different statistics: impression share, average position, overlap rate, position above rate, top of page rate, and outranking share. You can generate a report for one or more keywords, ad groups, or campaigns (as long as they meet a minimum threshold of activity for the time period selected), and segment results by time and device.

The Auction insights report for Shopping campaigns provides 3 different statistics: impression share, overlap rate, and outranking share. You can generate a report for one or more ad groups or campaigns (as long as they meet a minimum threshold of activity for the time period selected), and segment results by time and device. Auction insights data for Shopping campaigns are available from October 2014 to present.

Outranking share is a percentage defined as the number of times your ad ranked higher in the auction than another participant’s ad, plus the number of times your ad showed when theirs did not, divided by the total number of ad auctions you participated in.

Attribution reports show you the paths customers take to complete a conversion and attribute the conversion to different ads, clicks, and factors along the way.

The “Click Analysis” reports