Google is currently offering schools a hosted solution for their email, calendar, and chat through G Suite for Education to integrate communications and collaborate on solutions. The Google for Education IT Guide is a great resource for setting up your G Suite for Education. Only K–12 or a higher education institution that is formally accredited are eligible for G Suite for Education. Google does not assume ownership of any customer data in G Suite for Education core services. G Suite for Education can be used in compliance with: Additionally, you can complement the core suite to meet your users’ needs, with access to several more Google services.

G Suite for Education offers two Google services:

  1. G Suite Core Services: are Gmail (including Inbox by Gmail), Calendar, Chrome Sync, Classroom, Contacts, Drive, Docs, Forms, Groups, Sheets, Sites, Slides, Talk/Hangouts and Vault. Learn more at the Education products page.
  2. Additional Services: Youtube, Maps, and Blogger are designed for consumer users and can optionally be used with G Suite for Education accounts if allowed for educational purposes by a school’s domain administrator. For new services that Google enables, please see New Products settings on the Admin console Company Profile page. If Google Play is disabled, as a G Suite administrator, you can still send Android apps to managed Chromebooks. Learn more about turning Google Play on or off for users.

The G Suite for Education Privacy Notice describes how Google collects and uses information with G Suite for Education accounts.  The Core Services are provided for educational use under a school’s G Suite for Education Agreement and Data Processing Amendment. As detailed on the Additional Services page, most Additional Services are governed by the Google Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, and some Additional Services also have service-specific terms.

TERMS G Suite for Education Privacy Notice
G Suite for Education agreement and Data Processing Amendment (if amendment is accepted by the school) Google Terms of Serviceand Privacy Policy, and service-specific terms
DATA USE User personal information collected in the Core Services is used only to provide the Core Services like Gmail, Docs, Sheets, and Slides. Information from all Additional Services can be used to provide, maintain, protect and improve them, and to develop new ones.
ADS No ads in Core Services, and no Customer Data from Core Services is used for advertising purposes (in either Core or Additional Services). Additional Services may show ads. For G Suite for Education users in Primary/Secondary (K-12) schools, Google does not use any user personal information (or any information associated with a Google Account) to target ads.
SECURITY Core Services are included in G Suite security audits and certifications (ISO 27001, SOC 2 and SOC 3). All Additional Services meet Google’s high standards for information security.
SHARING LIMITATIONS Google does not share Customer Data in Core Services with third parties, except in the limited circumstances outlined in our Privacy Policy (such as with consent or when required by law). The Apps agreement’s confidentiality provisions also limit how Customer Data in the Core Services can be shared with third parties. Google does not share personal information with third parties, except in the limited circumstances outlined in our Privacy Policy (such as with consent or when required by law).

 G Suite for Education is no ads Google doesn’t assume ownership of any customer data. You can find up to date information about a specific product or feature in the Google Help Center, Google Docs, Google Sheets, Google Slides, and Google Drawings allow you to work offline.


Decide on a consistent color scheme that you will use throughout the resource you create. Stick to two or three dominant colors. Use contrasting colors (dark text on a light background or light text on a dark background). If applicable, credit resources referenced and give attribution to others’ creative works (e.g. images, etc.). Let your audience know if your work is copyright protected. Consider using a Creative Commons license for your work. Don’t forget to Include your contact information. For more tips, read this article: 20 World-Class Presentation Experts Share Their Top Tips.

Consider the following checklist when designing your slides. Do not overwhelm the audience with too much information at once. Limit content to one idea per slide. Make sure that pictures are not competing with text. Adhere to Google for Education’s brand guidelines. Consider the following checklist when designing your Doc. Be sure to create a unique header that captures your personality. Use horizontal lines to break up sections. Use a Table of Contents to organize your ideas. Adhere to Google for Education’s brand guidelines.

Consider the following checklist when designing your Drawing. Choose a captivating background image. Using the hyperlink feature in Drawings, add links to other resources on top of your background image. Less is more and Adhere to Google for Education’s brand guidelines.

Use the checklist below to guide you as you create your video.mIf you include slides in your video, check out the “Tips on Creating Beautiful Slides” from the previous section. If you will appear in the video, make sure you are looking directly at the camera when speaking and check that your background is free of distractions. Choose a quiet location to record your video and use a microphone. Speak clearly, enunciate carefully, and vary your cadence. Use YouTube Live Events and YouTube Editor to produce your video. There are also screencasting apps that can be used to create videos such as Screencastify.

What makes for aesthetically pleasing training materials? Be succinct and to the point. Less is more, Use contrasting colors (dark text on a light background or light text on a dark background).Don’t let the image compete with the text. What are some features of Google Docs that help organize different ideas on a Doc? Inserting a horizontal line.

“What skills do professional public speakers possess?”

Think of a few techniques that can make a presentation successful and engaging. Then, click on the video below to see an example of how these presenters demonstrate professional public speaking skills.

Video: Using advanced Slides features | Slides | The Apps Show

In this video, Drea and Jimmy utilize making eye contact with the viewers by facing the audience, exuding positive energy and animation, smiling at the audience, speaking with varying cadences and good pacing, projecting voices for good volume, and standing with straight postures and using hand gestures.

You have great ideas to share. Deliver your training with confidence and clarity.Make sure your audience really listens to your message. Below are some additional resources on presentation skills that you might find helpful.

Be an active listener. During the training, it’s important to stay attuned to your learners and show that you are paying attention.MindTools suggests the following four tips in their video, ”Improve Your Listening Skills with Active Listening.“:

  • Maintain eye contact.
  • Show that you are listening with nods and smiles.
  • Paraphrase what you heard and ask questions.
  • Wait until the other person has finished speaking before you start to think of a response.

When covering many ideas and skills in a single workshop, it’s easy for the audience to forget what they learned earlier in the day— not to mention a few months later. Document learning objectives and summarize key takeaways from the session.Another effective way for the audience to capture their learning experience is by having them crowdsource the information on a Google Doc. By having multiple individuals take notes in one file, someone may record an idea that another person has missed.

 Which of the following behaviors demonstrate great public speaking skills? Making eye contact with the audience, Exuding positive energy and animation, Speaking with varying cadences and good pacing, and Projecting your voice.

What are some attributes of active listening? Show that you are listening with nods and smiles. Paraphrase what you heard and ask questions, and Maintain eye contact. During the training, it’s important to stay attuned to your learners and to keep the channels of communication open. Use Google Docs as trainers during the session to help summarize the learning. It’s a widely-accepted belief that people retain more of what they learn when they are actively involved in the learning process.


Gathering formative feedback enables you to set new training goals and iterate on your training plans. Receiving feedback allows you to monitor whether your training is meeting your organization’s goals, teachers’ goals, and your personal goals as a trainer. With this information, you can make adjustments to your training goals and provide insights into your community’s progress toward their transformation.You can gather feedback both during and after your training session using the following methods: observational feedback, verbal feedback, and digital feedback. Observe your audience, Have conversations with teachers, and Utilize technology tools to collect feedback.

  1. Observational Feedback: observing your audience during the training session. Your task is to determine if these teachers are implementing what they have learned from you into their practice. The external trainer should have follow-up visits as part of the training plan.
  2. Verbal Feedback: Have ongoing conversations with your audience both during and after your training session. Having personal conversations about the success of your training sessions not only helps you to grow as a trainer, but it also helps you to build stronger trainer–teacher relationships.
  3. Digital Feedback: Track and monitor your training effectiveness in a way that is easily shared with others. Google Educator Certifications As a Google for Education Certified Trainer, you will have an opportunity to help inspire other teachers to become Google Certified Educator Level 1 and Level 2. Your training sessions will help to build foundational skills to help teachers acquire certifications. Google Slides Q&A is an excellent opportunity to gather feedback during your session. When you open a Q&A session on your Google Slides, your audience can ask questions and vote on which ones they wish to have answered. These questions give you immediate feedback about whether your training session is meeting learner goals. After the training session, you can go back and review Q&A history so you can make adjustments to future training sessions and training goals.
  4. Google Classroom: “Create a Question”: You can open a Google Classroom for a training session. Not only is this a great way to share resources, but by posting a question for teachers to respond to, you can gather valuable information about whether teachers are understanding your training, allowing you to either slow down or speed up the rate of your training. Ask teachers how they might use what they learned in the session to impact their classroom. When they respond, you can then contact each teacher at a later date to help them continue their learning and progress toward new learning goals.

I use the same Google Form as an exit ticket for all my training sessions. Not only does this strategy help me understand what my audience learned, but it also allows me to maintain an ongoing record of the trainings I give because the responses are tracked on one Google Sheet. I keep the Form simple by only asking for the teacher’s name, date, the name of the session, and one “paragraph response.” For each training session, the question I add for the paragraph response may change. (For example, after a training session about Google Classroom, I might ask the group to reflect on how Google Classroom may help transform the way they give feedback throughout the writing process.) After the session, I use the responses to evaluate how well the training went and gather ideas for future training sessions.

Whenever I lead a training session with a group of teachers, I always send out a Google Form pre-session survey. When I design my pre-session survey, I use mostly “scale” question types. For example, I might ask the following question: “how confident do you feel creating Google Slide presentations?” The responses are recorded using a scale of 1-5, starting with “not confident” to “very confident.” When I use scale question types on my pre-session surveys, I can copy these same questions for my post-session survey. Quantitative data from the two surveys, comparing confidence levels before and after training sessions, provides meaningful information to share with my school leader, showing progress toward training goals. Whenever possible, I allow teachers to have the option of remaining anonymous when filling out post-session surveys. I explain that the surveys help me to become a better trainer and that I value their honest opinions. Here is an example of a post-session survey.

There have been times when I have assumed that my learners possess certain skills that they have not yet mastered. When this occurs, I immediately adjust my training and turn the opportunity into a valuable teachable moment. Valuable learning happens in these moments when you need to understand something in context. So it is entirely appropriate to slow down the training and help teachers understand what exactly is causing the confusion.

After a training session about using Google Drawings to design interactive mind maps, you review your post-session survey to learn that most attendees have all gained confidence with utilizing this tool. It is always exciting to see when your audience has gained confidence in a new skill. That is the first step toward transformation in the classroom. The next goal as a trainer would be to help the teachers who attended the training session to transfer this skill effectively into their classrooms for student use. I would then work with these teachers and co-plan and co-teach a lesson showing them how you can use Google Drawings to create interactive mind maps that significantly impact student learning.

It is best to only gather feedback from your audience after your training session is over. False. Gathering feedback should be continuous. It happens both during the training session and after. Which of the following technology tools and online resources can assist in gathering feedback? Open up Slides Q&A during your training session, create a question in Google Classroom for teachers to respond to, utilize Google Certified Educator exams in the Training Center, and design a Google Form post-session survey or exit ticket. Why is it important to evaluate your training? You need to know when to make adjustments to the training plan.


There are several criteria to consider while designing an agenda. The first is differentiation. Differentiation is defined as reacting responsively to the needs and interests of the learners.1 In other words, it means making your material a dynamic, living organism that changes according to its audience. You can harness the power of differentiation by changing the content, process, or product according to learners’ interests, readiness, or learning needs. However, keep in mind that time will play a factor here. Ensure you’re working within a reasonable timeline that allows you to adjust your agenda based on audience need.

Questions/Resources to consider:

Tips and Resources:

Consider the following:

  • What types of questions would you include in your survey that would encourage goal setting?
  • Ask both open and closed-ended questions
  • Rating scales make the information easy to analyze both before and after the session.
  • Paragraph responses allow for a more personal and in depth answer.

Consider the following prompts:

  • Pick a topic to be covered for this session.
  • Decide upon three hands-on activities with three different levels of difficulty.
  • Change the sharing settings to anyone with the link can view and shorten the URL using the link shortener.

What kinds of information can you gather from participants with a pre-session survey? Types of devices their students access, Types of devices they will be bringing to the training, Confidence level with specific skills, and Professional goals attendees have for the training.

It is important to create an agenda with a flexible timeline. True. Adult learners should have relevant and immediately applicable material. It is important to differentiate your training to meet the specific needs of access and equity within the classrooms and schools you target. True. Differentiation helps you meet specific needs and interests of your audience which helps connect your training to their learning goals. Pre-session surveys are helpful because You are able to design an agenda based on the needs and interests of those attending your session. You can better meet the specific needs of access and equity with your audience. The data gathered helps you to differentiate the learning for you audience.



Extraordinary trainers quickly engage their adult learners, build connections, and earn trust. Their passion is contagious. How can you make sure you are delivering your training with the same passion and engagement?

Teachers who are learning look for information that can easily and quickly translate into their grade level and content areas. Research tells us that adults prefer to focus on relevant problems and solutions. Are you able to design your sessions with these essential qualities in mind? Doing so will help you build rapport and trust, and enhance your interpersonal training skills.

  • Google slides – Shared slide decks are a great way to model real-time collaboration and capture both the individual and collective voice of the group. Share a slide deck with the teachers and assign a slide to each participant. Ask them to include their name, area of interests, strengths, and needs. By browsing the slides, the participants will learn a lot about their peers and build long-lasting connections with each other.
  • YouTube – Building context for your training sparks the interest of your participants. Empower the teachers to be learners along with their students by sharing videos from classrooms and students around the world. This provides a huge global impact in a classroom. Also, curate strong examples of classroom instruction or inspirational videos to help your community as they develop their comfort with technology integration, and you can invite each participant to subscribe to your channel to stay connected to your future curations.
  • Google+ – Connect your learners in meaningful ways through a Google+ Community. By inviting teachers to a private community and modeling online engagement, you will empower each teacher to understand his/her digital voice. Use this platform to facilitate closed discussions around teachers’ goals and add clarity to the ongoing conversation. Create a private community for educators to collaborate on common goals or grade level objectives. For some, this may be their first step into educational social media use, and by using Google+, you are providing a safe setting for that experience.
  • Google Classroom – By utilizing Google Classroom in your training, teachers can participate as both instructors and students. This unique interaction allows teachers to become familiar with its functions and understand how it can be valuable to their students. Posting announcements, providing links to training materials, including assessments, engaging in two-way communication, and providing feedback, will model the effective uses of Google Classroom for teachers and inspire them to do the same in their own classrooms.

How can I help the teachers understand Advanced Google Search Tools when they research information about current events?”

I like to use the news to build the case for training teachers to use Google Search strategies in their classroom. I also like to give them tools to use when they are searching for information in front of their students. By adding the phrase “for kids” to the end of a search query, they are likely to come up with more appropriate content. Also, filtering the search by time limits the search further. Training the teachers to be in charge of their search increases the likelihood that they’ll model it for their students, and then the students can search more effectively, too.

Being a connected educator helps you stay in touch with trends, best practices, and developing pedagogy. How can Google tools help you become and stay connected? I’ve considered myself a connected educator for a few years now, but I took my time jumping into Google+ because I wasn’t sure about the purpose. I don’t need to make new friends. I am already connected to a bunch of people on Twitter. So, I decided to try Google+ communities and see what they had to offer. I wasn’t disappointed! I was surprised to see both public and closed groups that matched my areas of interest, and there was even a Google Educator Group (GEG) in my area! I joined the group and haven’t looked back. Now, when I have specific Google questions, I go straight to my GEG Group and ask for advice. I feel more connected than ever!

 Which of the following are qualities of an adult learner? Adult learners are looking for information that can be easily and quickly integrated. Adults prefer to focus on problem-based learning.  Adults appreciate when training calls upon prior experiences and expertise. Which of the following are qualities of an adult learner? Adult learners are looking for information that can be easily and quickly integrated. Adults prefer to focus on problem-based learning. Which Google tool is the best fit for building relevant global connections for training and classroom instruction? YouTube. Using Google tools to collaborate and communicate regularly can increase motivation and can nudge participants to take positive steps forward. True. In what way can Google+ assist in the goal-setting process within your organization? 

Before a training session, send out the agenda and resources. Utilize Google Accessibility where some of the Google tools have demo videos and links to learning keyboard shortcuts. Organize alL training sessions in Google Classroomto use a Google tool that will easily transfer to classroom use and gives teachers personalized feedback during and after training sessions. Google Classroom helps to organize their work into folders. Some teacher can be reluctant to school or organizational leaders, resistant to change, lack confidence, and are apathetic. Engage reluctant teachers by spending time building relationships with teachers, make the conversations about the student, and design authentic activities that are meaningful for classroom practice.  It is important to gauge frustration levels and adjust pacing based on audience feedback, even if it means making adjustments to your agenda.

  • Google Sheets: You can organize and share student data with teachers, thus making the conversation about students, not teaching.
  • YouTube: You can design video tutorials or curate videos on YouTube to help teachers build confidence with technology skills.
  • Google Classroom: You can organize your training sessions in Google Classroom so teachers can experience the benefits of having a digital classroom.

Develop a strong understanding of seamless technology integration. As you develop your training voice, it’s helpful to have resources at the ready so you can comfortably model strong pedagogy and research-based approaches in real time. Google tools can help you do this. Let’s explore the following strategies that you can focus on to enhance your skills as a trainer:

  • Gathering formative data
  • Analyzing data to build next steps in the classroom

Let’s look at some different examples of digital tools for gathering data:

  • Play interactive, instructional games with Kahoot
  • Socrative Student provides live results for interactive assessments and tasks
  • Plickers offers a low-tech option for capturing live results from the audience

Let’s look at ways you can interact with the data after you collect it:

Design a demo lesson plan that:

  • Includes clear communication before, during, and after the lesson.
  • Clearly, determines which digital tools you want to use to gather and analyze lesson data.

Design a demo lesson plan that:

  • Focuses on clear communication before, during, and after the lesson.
  • Clearly, determines which digital tools you want to use to gather and analyze lesson data.

Your school leader has asked you to help a tenth-grade teacher with his technology class because the students aren’t really creating any projects with technology. She wants you to figure out why the teacher isn’t using technology and to help him figure out the best steps to get started. Design a demo lesson plan that:

  • Focuses on clear communication before, during, and after the lesson.
  • Clearly, determines which digital tools you want to use to gather and analyze lesson data.

Demonstration lessons are best designed with clear communication before, during, and after the lesson with the teacher. What are some best practices when demonstrating a lesson? Meet with the teachers prior to the lesson to understand the objective(s), Discuss the student reactions and lesson adjustments in real time, Debrief the lesson afterwards, and Set up logical and realistic next steps for future demonstration lessons.

Gathering formative Data helps the instructor redirect lessons and better meet the needs of the students. Referencing data helps you redirect your training in real time which models flexibility. True

Research shows that feedback is most beneficial when given in a timely fashion and by someone who can identify observed or measured facts rather than opinions.1 How can you be mindful of these guidelines as you provide feedback to your learners?

A challenge for trainers is to quickly and effectively provide feedback to attendees during sessions. Some adult learners are more open to the feedback process, while others may feel like that are being “judged” or “evaluated.”

It’s helpful to think about feedback as “information about how we are doing in our efforts to reach a goal.”1 In Grant Wiggins’ article, Seven Keys to Effective Feedback, he proposes that feedback should be:

  • Goal-referenced
  • Actionable
  • Timely
  • Ongoing

You can use feedback to target successes and growth points for your teachers which helps them grow as professionals and lifelong learners.1 Start the feedback loop by designing sessions that have clear goals. Once goals are set, it’s simpler to tie all the work back to the objectives and help the learners see their progress toward these goals.

This lesson will review skills associated with the process of providing effective feedback: methods to set up feedback in real time. In leveraging the ISTE Standards for Coaches2, you will start to shape a collection of best practices for feedback and understand your role in the process.

Track and manage agenda items with all your team members

Building a collaborative agenda inside of a Google Doc prior to a session helps capture the participants’ voices. It ensures more buy-in during the session and also invites the teachers to be active in the conversation when you are together in person. When you design the goals and objectives of a training together, you increase the audience involvement and have a better chance of delivering feedback that truly matters to the attendees.

Project Management Docs, Keep, Sheets, Calendar The Apps Show

Ensure that the feedback is relevant to the classroom and students

The value of images and videos outweigh written text. Work with the teachers to build comfort around capturing lessons through video. Let them know about the ways you can upload private and unsearchable videos to YouTube. Videos allow you to gather real-time examples of lessons in action to then watch with the teacher when he is finished teaching. By uploading the videos to your school or professional YouTube channel, teachers can watch the videos at their own pace. The post-lesson conversations are much more effective when you can talk about the context and content of the lessons as a whole.

When setting up a training session, it’s important to design a timely communication plan that loops you and your teachers into a conversation. Responding quickly and directly with the stakeholders helps you stay in touch with school goals. Developing an action plan to clarify goals, assess effectiveness, and determine next steps within the organization is an essential step in this communication process.

Communication plans


  • Start by contacting the school leader to gather information about the teachers and school community.
  • Record the information you receive directly from the school leaders and indirectly from classroom observations and walkthroughs.
  • Make the time to analyze the data and build the agenda appropriately.


  • Once you are in the session, create opportunities for real-time conversation and other collaborative activities that invite teachers to discuss and the trainer to observe.
  • Take notes in a shared Google Doc so that the teachers can be a part of the collaborative note-taking process.
  • You can record conversations using your smartphone or tablet and upload it to your YouTube channel.


  • Determine next steps and share them out on a Google Keep List as well as schedule them into your Google Calendar.
  • Personalizing the Calendar notifications will help you stay in touch with the next steps and also communicate ongoing support for all stakeholders.
  • Finally, copy and paste the link to the YouTube video for the teachers and leader to review the conversation as needed.

Providing  feedback allows trainers to personalize sessions, communicate, and plan more effectively for next steps. True.

What are the advantages of developing action plans for training and communication? Clarify goals, Assess effectiveness, and determine next steps with the community. YouTube is an ineffective place to showcase classroom demos and real-time examples from classroom visits are false.

. ________ before, during, and after a training session set up a strong feedback loop: Communication, Collaboration, Planning, and Responsiveness

When using Google Forms to design surveys, be sure to include both open and closed-ended questions.

Questions to consider:

  • What device and Google tools does your audience and their students have access to?
  • How confident is your audience with specific skills that may be covered?
  • What goals does your audience have?



  • Which technology framework works best with your audience and the established vision of leadership?
  • Understand and meet the allotted timing of the training.
  • Set milestones for successful learning as well as reflection on the training.
  • Determine how the audience will be supported during and after the training.

Select a Technology Framework

As a trainer, you’ve probably encountered several theories on technology integration in education. Information and Communication Technology (ICT) offers a continuum for trainers, leadership, and teachers to evaluate and analyze learning in the classroom. Here are a few frameworks for you to review:

setting goals for the training provides you and the audience with markers for reflection and action. Establishing a time frame for these goals, whether it be 2 days, 2 months, or 2 years, is an important aspect of any training plan. The time-based milestones should keep pace with the vision of the learning community and be evaluated at regular intervals.

  • Set reminders and appointments with Google Calendar to meet with teachers to discuss and reflect on learning.
  • Create and track both short term and long term milestones with Google Sheets.

You are a guide, a mentor, an encouraging colleague, and a model of good teaching practices. The training plan you devise should include continuous learning support for your audience. Form positive connections with leadership and teachers as a follow-up to a training through consistent and frequent communication. You might try:

For more inspiration about your role as a trainer, it may be helpful to review the ISTE Standards for Coaches.

  • How might you involve leadership and teachers in the process of selecting a professional development program?
  • How might you introduce a technology integration framework?
  • How might you best support continuous learning for this group of teachers?
  • How might the implementation of a technology framework support training and continuous learning over the 2-3 year period?
  • Which communication tools might you use to connect with teachers
  • How might you encourage consistent reflection by leadership and teachers on achieving short- and long-term goals?

The following are frameworks for technology integration: SAMR and TPACK. You can use Google hangouts and google+ G Suite apps to support ongoing learning. Time for implementation should be a factor in developing a training plan.True. Since implementation could take years, you should anticipate the amount of time required for the training plan. An effective training plan may include the following elements: Series of milestones and Opportunities for continued learning.

According to Jessica Bohn, in her article Turning Resistant Teachers into Resilient Teachers, there are four types of resistant teachers:

  • Those who resist school or organizational leaders.
  • Those who resist change.
  • Those who resist because they lack confidence.
  • Those who resist because of apathy.

Listed below are some high-impact strategies to use when working with reluctant or resistant teachers:

  • Start by building relationships and trust.
  • Create buy-in by gaining support from other teachers.
  • Whenever possible, honor confidentiality about your training.
  • Make the conversations about the students, not the teacher.
  • Use data to help guide conversations.

Want to host more successful professional development? Getting through to your learners can make all the difference. Read on to discover how to work with all types of learners—no matter how reluctant—and make the maximum impact with your training.

When planning your training session, there are two factors to consider:

  1. What are your learning goals for the training session?
  2. What strategies will work best for the different types of learners in your audience?


Becoming a certified Google trainer’s goal is to create and deliver training plans. Educators experience how Google tools can change the way they teach. Envisioning yourself as a leader.  To prepare for your leadership in education you need to be reflective about your practice, be active in gaining new understandings of teaching and learning, and be a continuous learner.

Leadership qualities trainers should embody when working with educators: listen to their educators and audience. treat educators as professionals and support them as independent thinkers. Vision-setting is important. Sometimes people need to be shown what is possible and paint a picture of how to get there. Good leaders build relationships first. Establishing trust helps others feel comfortable when trying something new. Share other’s successes. We could document awesome lessons with pictures and share them in our Google+ community. It really helps model best practices and inspires innovation. The trainers and leaders in my school community visit classrooms and record videos of teachers leading small groups of students. These videos could be uploaded to the school YouTube channel so others can benefit from seeing best practices in action. Important qualities of any leader: developing a shared vision for professional development.

According to Malcolm Knowles’ Andragogy in Action, “Adult learners are motivated when they are presented with personally relevant and replicable content.” Encourage these learners to integrate expertise and previous experiences into their learning. This will increase engagement and challenge complacency.

  • Goal: Motivate at least two other teachers this semester to try a project with Google Docs or Google Slides at a substitution level. Achieve credibility by obtaining a Google L1, L2, and Certified Trainer badge. This can prove that I am ready to become an effective trainer and leader.
  • Success: I can share student examples of work in Google Docs or Google Slides with the other teachers at my school. Encourage the students to talk about what they liked and disliked about the project with their teachers. During staff development days, I now facilitate brief training. My colleagues and administrative staff recognize my expertise and view me as a leader.

What qualities should a trainer possess to inspire transformation? Demonstrate clear communication strategies with school leaders and teachers, Develop an understanding of community needs, and Determine incremental goals for technology integration. 2Adult learners are motivated when the content is personally relevant, honors their expertise, and builds upon their prior knowledge. It is easier to determine if a goal has been met when the goal is written with observable objectives. How might you improve your practice as a trainer: Communicating with respect, Delivering content with empathy, Building connections with your audience, and Meeting the individual needs of each person by actively listening and differentiating instruction.

As a Google for Education Certified Trainer, you have the unique opportunity to work with many stakeholder groups. Your guidance can help leaders and community members understand their role in managing change, identifying best practices, and embodying innovation every day. Start by visiting the ISTE Essential Conditions, which lays out a framework for building a shared vision in your community. You can begin collecting the voices of teachers, parents, students, administrators, board members, and community members. Gather the interests, wishes, concerns, and ideas of each group and empower them to provide input on the plan as it takes shape. Developing a shared vision requires buy-in from all stakeholders. Communication is an integral component of this process. You can communicate in a variety of ways: from emails to newsletters, to group polls. It’s important to gather a variety of voices and encourage active participation in the process.

Create a shared vision including school’s learning goals, initiatives, and collective voice?

  • Using the same Google Doc all year to store meeting notes and links to resources keeps every meeting organized and documented.
  • Creating a shared folder enables all members of a group to share resources, agendas, and notes. Different folders can be created for teaching teams, various departments, grade levels, and individual schools.

How can you broadcast initiatives to get buy-in from a wide audience?

  • Gmail is used by the parents in the community to keep them informed. Teachers and administrators send newsletters and email announcements weekly.
  • Using Blogger, teachers and administrators can capture and share classroom learning and keep stakeholders up to date on the school’s goals and initiatives.

First, you’ll need the support of leadership to help drive the change you are proposing. However, in your search for support, try going beyond leadership and look for evangelists within the impacted group to help support your goals. Second, you need to have a plan in place for those who are resistant to change. How will you motivate this group and call on your supporters for help? Third, communication to all parties involved should be as clear and transparent as possible. Everyone should understand what they are expected to do as processes and expectations change. Finally, you should be able to evaluate how the change has been adopted and measure the impact that it has had on the organization. You’ve examined some of the components of shared vision building, goal setting, and change management.

Knowing that so many teachers need support with device and time management, develop training videos and tutorials to model best practices. Also, work with school leaders to answer any questions the teachers may have at an upcoming staff meeting. Video tutorials allow teachers to learn new content at their pace and being present during staff meetings lets them get answers to any specific questions they may have.

Target teachers who are early technology adopters and spend time in their rooms building community and a reputation of trust. By sharing those stories, I start to define the role I can play in more classrooms, and I make a point to reach out to other teachers. It’s not easy to go into classrooms where teachers don’t know how to work with you. So, helping them understand what I can offer and how to access all available resources is tremendously beneficial.

Develop benchmarks to measure teacher proficiency with G Suite for Education. Develop a training schedule to help teachers gain proficiency with various Apps. Incentivize teachers to earn Google Educator Level 1 Certification. Having interim goals allows me to support the change management process and monitor success. Have time each month to host a small professional development group session focused on the administrative use of G Suite. My school leader trusts that the tools I introduce are valuable for the whole organization. Supporting school leaders directly helps them feel more informed and better prepares them to navigate changes with the teachers, staff, students, and parents.

Which group(s) should be included as stakeholders when supporting a shared vision as a Google for Education Certified Trainer? Local businesses, School leaders, and Students. What are some effective ways to ensure stakeholders understand or buy into the shared vision of their organization? (Select all that apply) Use a Google Form to survey stakeholders., create a Google+ community for your organization to post updates and hold discussions, and use Blogger to share school updates and innovative practices. You can involve stakeholders in the goal setting process? host parent evenings to gather ideas and feedback from parents, collaborate with other community trainers and share success and failure stories with community leaders. allow students to share ideas and opinions through the use of Google Forms surveys, and meet regularly with the school leader to discuss ways you can help support the school vision. You can impact change management with the strategies of p



More in-depth than some other social media monitoring services, Alterian provides advanced user behavior statistics, demographics, location, positive or negative tones, and trending topics for your brand as seen across a host of social media and outlets. 1. Alterian SM2: More in-depth than some other social media monitoring services, Alterian
provides advanced user behavior statistics, demographics, location, positive or negative tone, and trending topics for your brand as seen across a host of social media outlets and websites.


Offers sentiment monitoring, trend reporting, and audience profiling.  They provide 1000 days of Twitter History., and are PeopleBrowsr’s main products, and offer sentiment monitoring, trend reporting and audience profiling. Their main claim to fame at the moment is their recent announcement that they provide 1000 days of Twitter history.


It allows you to easily track and measure what people are saying about you, your company, a new product, or any topic across the web’s social media landscape in real-time.  Competitive advantage: provides a point-in-time social media search and analysis service, daily social media alerts, and API.  The pricing is free.  Customer base includes anyone involved in social media. Application that lets you search popular channels such as blogs and microblogs to find brand mentions and analyzes the sentiment towards your brand.  You can also set up alerts so that you will be told any time someone mentions your brand. This free web-based application lets you search popular channels such as blogs and microblogs to find brand mentions and analyzes the sentiment towards your brand. You can also set up alerts so that you will be told any time someone mentions your brand.


A slightly different type of social media listening tool, BrandsEye helps you
manage your online reputation by finding all of your brand mentions, the reputation of
their source, the sentiment and even flags mentions that you may require immediate
attention detailed demographic and geographic information and competitive analysis


Created by Infegy, Social Radar is a listening tool that allows you to visually see information flow between influencers, identify key conversations and determine
tone. Additionally, Social Radar’s historical data about your brand goes back to 2007,
so you can see how your influence has changed over time.


Check out how many mentions your brand has across the internet, where
they are coming from, and how far the comments have reached.


This dashboard, reminiscent of Google analytics, monitors virtually every online social media channel and provides you with an overall score of how well your brand is doing.


Social Media Dashboard is an online social media monitoring platform that gives you the tools to achieve an in-depth understanding of who is writing about your brand, what are they writing about, which social media platforms generate the most buzz for your brand and how the online conversation evolves over time.  Competitive advantage: Segmentation, Buzz Trends, Automatic Sentiment Analysis, Live quotes, coverage, and easy to use.  Customer base: Disney, Phillips, Microsoft, Hp, Lexus, Samsung, Johnson and Johnson.  Attentio is used as a monitoring software that is multilingual, where you can receive results and understand the buzz about your brand worldwide. The added perk for this monitoring software is that it is multilingual, meaning you can receive results and understand the buzz about your brand worldwide. Users also herald that Attentio has more of a brand focus than some of their competitors.


Social Media Monitoring Tool.  The Competitive advantage: Key Influencer Detection, Sentiment Detection, Topic Aggregation, scope on social networks and blogs. Software that helps monitor what people are saying about your brand, determine sentiment, and identify influencers.  Also provides detailed demographic and geographic information and competitive analysis. Sysomo’s flagship product, MAP provides access to millions of conversations dating back to 2006. The software helps monitor what people are saying
about your brand, determine sentiment, and identify influencers. Heartbeat, runs on the same technology as MAP, but is geared more towards brands interested in the day-to-day
monitoring of buzz, as opposed to in-depth market research. Though the amount of
information is more limited with this tool, the user-defined dashboard makes it easier for
marketers to quickly find the information relevant to them. Collective Intellect goes beyond monitoring what is being said about your brand online, and analyzes specific posts and snippets of posts to get the true sentiment surrounding your brand. Additionally, they identify who the influencers are for your brand.


Check out how many mentions your brand has across the internet, where they are coming from, and how far the comments have reached.


istening tool that allows you to visually see how information flows between influencers, identify key conversations and determine tone.  You can go back to 2007, so you can see how your influence has changed over time.


Delivers news within Facebook leveraging timeline to enable broader circulation.  Competitive advantage is Brand Recognition, More traffic to sites, social network integration.  Pricing: Provide a feed for free, 1,000/month for partners





Manual bidding lets you manually set bids at the ad group level, for individual keywords, or for ad placements, so you know you’re bidding for the clicks that mean the most to you. WIth automated bidding, you can set a daily budget and then have AdWords automatically adjust your bids to get the most clicks or conversions possible within your budget. Three tools to use for CPC bids:

  1. Bid simulator runs “what-if” scenarios
  2. Keyword Planner shows you how often some keywords get searched and gives you cost estimates at a glance.
  3. First page bid estimates help you see how much you may need to bid to put your ad on the first page of Google search results.

Once you’ve identified which keywords, locations, times, and devices are getting good results, you can adjust your bids accordingly. For instance, if a keyword has a low average CPC but each click converts well, you may try increasing its max CPC bid. This could improve the ad’s average position for that keyword, giving your ads more exposure and potentially increasing your ROI. If you want to drive visits to your website, focus on clicks and use CPC bidding. Determine a competitive bid for each keyword by using a tool like the Keyword Planner.

Determine a bid strategy based on your goals. With manual bidding, you’re in control of how much you spend for things like clicks, impressions, and video views. You set maximum bids, and AdWords will stay within those limits. When you set bids manually, you can pick from multiple bid strategies to help you reach your goal. For example, if you want to drive sales, you can use a bid strategy that focuses on increasing clicks and conversions, but if you want to increase views of your video ad, you can use a strategy that focuses on increasing video views. Use manual bidding when running AdWords with a small advertising budget, you want more budget control, and are reworking an underperforming campaign.


  1. Ad reach: Manual cost-per-click (CPC) Bid to increase clicks with manual CPC, enter the max you’re willing to pay for a click on your ad. (You may pay less, the auction decides).
  2. Ad engagement: Cost-per-view (CPV) Bid to increase video views with CPV, set the max you’re willing to pay for video views and other video interactions.
  3. Ad clicks and conversions: Viewable-cost-per-impression (vCPM): Bid to increase impressions, the opportunity for your ad to be seen by potential customers. (For an impression to be “viewable,” at least 50 percent of your ad must show for at least one second for display ads and at least two seconds for video ads).
  4. Ad views: Cost-per-engagement (CPE) Bid to increase light box expansions or interactions with pre-expanded ads, set the max bid amount you’ll pay for this customer engagement.

Use conversion tracking or Google Analytics. Manual bidding requires monitoring, and these tools will give you the data you can use to make informed bids. Decide bid amounts with the CPC column in your AdWords account to determine your starting bids. (If you don’t have any data in your account yet, use the Keyword Planner). Determine a bid strategy based on your goals.

Automated Bidding

Automated bidding can improve your performance in ad auctions by automatically adjusting your bids to account for auction-time changes in device, browser, location, and more. Your keyword list determines which searches and site visits can trigger your ad if you win the bid. But the “right” bid for an impression can be a moving target influenced by things like match type, device, and location. With automated bidding, AdWords can automatically increase bids for impressions that it predicts (from auction-time data) could be more successful. Automated bidding works well to drive additional awareness, clicks, and even offers conversion-based strategies that help you drive more acquisitions. Use it in these scenarios:

  • Conversion tracking or Google Analytics is enabled
  • Advertiser is AdWords certified
  • Campaign has sufficient click and conversion data for algorithm to operate
  • Managing campaigns at scale
  • Have had 50-100 conversions over 30 days in a single campaign
  • Optimizing an existing campaign


  1. Ad conversions – Maximize clicks automatically sets your bids to help get as many clicks as possible within your budget. It can increase site visits and increase clicks on low-traffic terms.
  2. Ad visibility – Target search page location automatically sets your bids to help increase the chances that your ads appear at the top of the page or on the first page of search results. Target outranking share automatically sets your bid to outrank other domains in search results pages.
  3. Ad clicks – Target cost-per-acquisition (CPA) automatically sets bids to help get as many conversions as possible at the target CPA you set. (Some conversions may cost more or less than your target). Enhanced cost-per-click (ECPC) automatically adjusts your manual bids to try to maximize conversions. This strategy helps increase conversions while letting you stay in control of your keyword bids.
  4. Ad revenue – Target return on ad spend (ROAS) bids more where AdWords estimates ads are more likely to lead to a sale, aiming to get as much ROAS as possible.


Make sure to consolidate your ad groups, create early conversions, and avoid frequent changes to bidding options.


Bid adjustments available

  1. Mobile – Show your ad more or less frequently for searches that occur on mobile devices. For example, if you’re promoting an app, you could raise bids for mobile users to focus on driving app installs.
  2. Location – Show your ad more or less frequently to customers in certain countries, cities, or other geographic areas. For example, if you own a restaurant, you could raise bids to show your ads more frequently to people nearby.
  3. Time of day – Increase or decrease your bids on certain days or during certain hours. For example, if you’re a meal delivery service, you could raise your bids from 5-7pm to increase your chances of showing ads to hungry commuters on their way home.
  4. Top content – Use bid adjustments for popular content to increase your ad’s chance of showing on top content on YouTube and the Display Network. When your ad is eligible to appear on this content, AdWords will use your bid adjustment to raise your bid. For example, you could raise your bids for the hottest new cat video on YouTube. *Top content adjustments are recommended for advanced users.
  5. Targeting methods – Use bid adjustments for topics, placements, and other targeting methods in campaign types that show ads on the Display Network. For example, if you sell luggage, you could increase your bids on travel sites in the Display Network so you’re more likely to show on travel blogs and review sites. *Targeting method adjustments are recommended for advanced users.
  6. Remarketing lists for search ads – Use bid adjustments for remarketing lists in your ad groups if you’d like to show ads more or less frequently to people on these lists. For example, you could increase your bid for those who previously viewed your website in the last 30 days. *Remarketing list adjustments are recommended for advanced users.



Setting your budget

  1. Calculate based on your monthly budget – per day by dividing your monthly budget by 30.4 – the average number of days per month. For example, let’s say you normally spend $1,450 per month on advertising / 30.4 days = daily budget of $48. Note: Due to changes in traffic, AdWords allows up to 20% more clicks in a day than the budget specifies. However, in any given month, AdWords never charges more than the average daily budget amount multiplied by 30.4.
  2. Calculate based on your average cost-per-click. You can choose a daily budget for each campaign based on your advertising goals. For example, let’s say your cost-per-click is $0.10 on average, and you’d like around 500 clicks per day. You might budget $50 per day. Using this example, here’s how you’d figure out your daily budget: $0.10 x 500 = $50 per day (cost-per-click x clicks per day = Daily budget).
  3. Find your campaign’s recommended budget – AdWords shows recommended budgets for campaigns that repeatedly meet their daily budget but have the potential to earn more clicks and impressions. You can use these recommendations to estimate how a new budget may improve the visibility of your campaign’s ads. The recommendations are based on the following factors:* Recent campaign performance, * Current campaign budget, * Keyword list, * Campaign targeting settings
  4. Check your ad delivery method – When your average daily budget is reached, your ads will typically stop showing for that day; determines how quickly your ads are shown and how long your budget lasts during a given day, when setting your daily budget. “Standard” delivery method – spreads your budget throughout the day. The “Accelerated” uses your budget more quickly. Accelerated delivery is ideal for advertisers who want to show results more quickly.

Note: AdWords won’t display a recommended daily budget if you rarely meet your daily budget, or if your campaign has limited data. If you don’t see a recommended budget.


  1. Build awareness – requires a larger budget due to the longer path to conversion and the scale at which you try to reach people.
  2. Influence consideration –  mid funnel and can be accomplished with a small, medium, and large ad budget. With a medium length path to conversion, a medium to large budget is preferred so you can reach a wider group of people and begin moving them to action.
  3. Driving action – At the bottom of the marketing funnel where you typically have a small group of your target audience. You can meet all of your action goals with a small, medium, or large daily budget.

Set a budget for your campaign


Direct sales campaigns: If your goal is to sell products and reach a specific type of audience, you might want to add a few targeting methods to your ad group that are set to “Target and bid.” Then your ads can show only when the specific targeting methods you’ve selected match. Here are some sample combinations:

Targeting methods “Target and bid” (default setting) “Bid only” When ads can show
Keywords + placements Keywords + placements Not selected Keywords AND placements both required for ads to show.
Audiences + age Audiences + age Not selected Audiences AND age both required for ads to show.
Keywords + topics Keywords + topics Not selected Keywords AND topics both required for ads to show.
Remarketing + gender Remarketing + gender Not selected Remarketing AND gender both required for ads to show.
Topics + audiences Topics + audiences Not selected Topics AND in-market audiences both required for ads to show.

Brand campaigns: If your goal is to reach as many people as possible, you might not want to add too many targeting methods to your ad group. You may still choose, however, to add multiple targeting methods so you can set bids on a particular one without significantly limiting your reach. Here are some sample combinations:

Targeting methods “Target and bid” (default setting) “Bid only” What it means
Age + gender + affinity audiences Age + gender + affinity audiences Not selected Age AND gender AND affinity audiences all required for ads to show.
Affinity audiences and age* Affinity audiences Age Affinity audiences required for ads to show. If affinity audiences and age overlap, you’ll see reporting for both. The bid used will depend on your bidding selection.
Keywords + placements Keywords Placements Keywords required for ads to show. If keywords and placements overlap, you’ll see reporting for both. The bid used will depend on your bidding selection.
Keywords + gender * Keywords Gender Keywords required for ads to show. If keywords and gender overlap, you’ll see reporting for both. The bid used will depend on your bidding selection.
Topics + affinity audiences + placements Topics + affinity audiences Placements Topics AND affinity audiences both required for ads to show. If topics, affinity audiences, and placements overlap, you’ll see reporting for all. The bid used will depend on your bidding selection.

These combinations can be useful for people who would like to increase their chances of reaching certain demographic groups, but don’t want to restrict their traffic to those groups only. A placement can be a website or a specific page on a site, a mobile app, video content, or even an individual ad unit. Negative keywords let you exclude search terms from your campaigns and help you focus on only the keywords that matter to your customers. Better targeting can put your ad in front of interested users and increase your return on investment (ROI). You can create negative phrase match, negative exact match, and negative broad match. For campaigns with “All features” enabled, you can use the ad schedule to Specify certain hours or days of the week when you want your ads to show OR set bid adjustments to increase or decrease your bids for specific days and times. If you haven’t used Display Planner before, read About Display Planner first. You can find Display Planner at the top of your AdWords account, under Tools. When you first open Display Planner, you’ll have a choice of four options to start building your campaign. In each section, you’ll enter your campaign language and location targeting, bid type, and ad format filters.

Find new targeting ideas

  1. Search for new targeting ideas using a phrase, website, or category: Choose this option to get started with a broader selection of targeting ideas. You’ll enter keywords, topics, or websites that you think are likely to match your customer interests, and your landing page. That will get Display Planner started with the types of targeting and keywords that can build the foundation of your campaign.
  2. Find top placements by location: enter  your campaign location and language targeting, bid type, your available ad formats, and topics that are relevant to your business. Using this info, Display Planner will show you the top Display Network inventory for your campaign.

See insights and forecasts for your targetin: You can either upload an existing Display Planner plan as a CSV file, or enter your targeting criteria (one per line) in the box. Here’s how these should look:

  • Keywords: Search phrase. Example: flight discounts
  • Placements: Web URL. Example:
  • Topics: Topic:<ID>. Example: Topic:1234
  • Interests: Interest:<ID>. Example: Interest:80001
  • Android apps: mobileapp:2-<ID>. Example: mobileapp:1-234567891
  • Mobile app categories: mobileappcategory:<ID>. Example: mobileappcategory:60008

Get inventory details for your targeting. Here you can enter targeting criteria or upload from a previous plan you’ve made. Once you click Get inventory details, you’ll see inventory data for your targeting ideas. You can then choose to add targeting details like placements and demographics to your plan.

Get performance forecasts for your targeting. Like above, you can also enter targeting criteria or upload from a previous plan you’ve made. Once you click Get performance forecasts, you’ll see a graph of your plan’s potential performance based on bid and budget. You can adjust this graph several ways:

  • Enter various bids and budgets in the boxes above.
  • Adjust the “Campaign targeting”, “Bid strategy”, and “Filters” sections on the side.
  • Click a point on the graph to select that bid.